top of page
geod michael.jpeg
Post: Image

Be At Peace With Your Mind

Wow, what does this even mean?!


The 2nd Yoga Sutra lays out the definition and purpose of yoga. "Yogas citta vrtti nirodhah: yoga is the cessation of the modifications, or fluctuations, of the mind. ... The mind chatter that draws our attention away from the present moment.robs us of joy in a quiet mind. I find my mind chatters and fluctuates often.


Someone once said that the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. I believe this is the reason why we become "off-balance." Off-balance in our body, mind and spirit.


Letting go! Aparigraha in the Niyamas.

Vairagya in the Yoga Sutra - letting go, acceptance, detachment.


I devote each morning chanting, "acceptance" 108 times on mala beads but do I really accept the way things are in the present? Do I continue to resent yesterday's mishaps and fret about tomorrow?

Aparigraha or non-attachment is the last Yama in Patanjali's Eight Limbs of Yoga.. Non-attachment to things we dislike and non-attachment to things we love.


Being at peace with the mind means declutter. Clean up your act, so to speak. We do this by Practice, self-study and surrender to the divine.

  • Let go of ideas with which you are familiar. False Identity. Life is not always how you were taught or how you perceive.

  • Stop looking outside yourself for gratification. Ego. Admit that you are powerless over people, places and things.

  • Remember, everyone has their own purpose. A purpose you know nothing about

  • Ahimsa. Satya. Saucha.

  • Clean out clutter; physical, mental, emotional.

  • Get out in nature.

  • Don't be afraid to be alone with your thoughts. Meditate.

  • Forgive,; forgive everyone and everything. Start with yourself.

  • Resentments - We focus on judging other people's actions.

  • Relationships.

  • Practice the Yamas

  • Nothing outside of us belongs to us.

  • Carry this to the mat!

I worked hard this week getting the gardens in shape but I forgot to enjoy them.

I drank too much caffeine which left me edgy and rambling. I did not take care of my body.

Expectations of others led me to understand that I thought I knew what was best for them. Ego interference!

I forgot that acceptance really means that we all have a divine purpose. Leave others to theirs and work on my own.

I forgot to enjoy the present.


"When we embrace aparigraha, we become like the fledgling bird. We were not born to stay clinging to a branch. We were born to soar…. " (https://wanderlust.com/journal/aparigraha-learning-to-let-go/)


Yoga Sutra 1.33 Maitri Karuna Muditopeksanam Sukha Duhka Punyapunya Visayanam Bhavantas Citta Prasadanam.

“By cultivating attitudes of friendliness toward the happy, compassion for the unhappy, delight in the virtuous, and disregard toward the wicked, the mind stuff retains its undisturbed calmness.” — Sri Swami Satchidananda


Only in this letting go can we come to know peace of mind.


Time to soar....






6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page